Vietnam: Six international coastal tourism regions

Vietnam: Six international coastal tourism regions

0 1146


The Vietnamese Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism has designated six coastal tourism development regions in the country. Zoom in on the map above to view these six locations.

Six Coastal Tourism Regions

The overall goals til 2020 are: Marine tourism become potential industry for developing sea economic in Vietnam; the country needs to form up six sea tourism regions of international stature and high competitiveness, namely;

  1. Ha Long – Bai Tu Long – Cat Ba,
  2. Lang Co – Canh Duong
  3. Hoi An – Cu Lao Cham,
  4. Nha Trang – Cam Ranh
  5. Phan Thiet – Mui Ne
  6. Phu Quoc

Tourism Ports

Some tourist ports will be set up and put into initial operation such as Ha Long, Da Nang, Nha Trang, Ho Chi Minh City and Phu Quoc.


The country also targets to get 22 million international tourists and 58 million domestic ones with VND200,000 billion equal to USD10 billion from sea tourism; creates 600,000 direct jobs and 1.1 million indirect jobs till 2020; development of marine tourism products toward international markets such as: ASEAN, East Asia (China, Japan, Korea), Australia, New Zealand , Europe (Germany, Holland, France, England, Sweden, Denmark, Russia), etc.

The project also stated that to maximize the sea tourism potential, there must be mechanisms, favorable policies to encourage investment in tourism, as well as improving the capacity of management agencies on travel from central to local.

To achieve this goals, the managers, businesses and partners involved in tourism activities need to raise awareness about the importance of ensuring national security and defense for tourist activities.

Talk Vietnam

Share this article Email this to someonePrint this pageShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+